New Zealand Esports Federation


E Black squad to compete at Commonwealth Esports Championship named

The New Zealand Esports Federation has selected an inaugural E Blacks squad aiming to compete in Birmingham for the upcoming Commonwealth Esports Championship, an event held parallel to the Commonwealth Games. Over August 6th and 7th, our E Blacks squad will potentially compete in three esports: Dota 2 (both Open and Womens), Rocket League and eFootball. 

In a press conference held on Wednesday, NZESF CEO Jonathan Jansen announced the team alongside the Federation’s President, Conor English.

The teams were selected as part of nationwide qualifiers held in early May, with the final matches being aired to both Twitch and Sky Sport in a record-breaking broadcast for New Zealand esports.

In the lead-up to the do-or-die qualification series against trans-Tasman rivals Australia, the team will link up with High Performance Sport NZ to train in state-of-the-art facilities much like our Commonwealth compatriots. With the playoff against Australia likely in early June, our squad is already hard at work preparing for the contest, including scrimming opponents in Australia and South East Asia.

The fifteen-strong E Black squad is as follows:

Dota 2 (Open)

  • Ning “Ningy” Yu (Position 1)
  • Thomas “TheLast” Argueso-Sareczky (Position 2)
  • Jordan “Zavier” Baker (Position 3)
  • Sam “explosiv_fury” Johnson (Captain – Position 4)
  • Tobias “Tobz” Sveaas (Position 5)


Dota 2 (Women)

  • Rangsey “Magic” Mou (Position 1)
  • Kassie “Lunerial” Pratt (Position 2)
  • Lucy “yculstranger” Tam (Captain – Position 3)
  • Jane “Thefallenx” Zhu (Position 4)
  • Janice “Bubbles” Tieu (Position 5) 


Rocket League

  • Dean “Scarth” Bagrie (Captain)
  • Tyler “Kenny Salmon” Williams
  • Joshua “Dx7” Macdonald-Gay



  • Joshua “JMKKing” King


Head Coach

  • Patrick “WarTurtle” Gleeson 


To learn more about the E Black squads you can view their full bios here

More NZESF Headlines